myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Windsurfing Pismo Beach

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Southwest USA, Hawaii, Mexico
View previous topic :: View next topic  
coolmtnbiker048

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:51 pm    Post subject: Windsurfing Pismo Beach Reply with quote

whats the scoop on Pismo??? I'm going up there thursday night-sunday morning. Bringing a 5.8 or 5.3. Whats the best sailing in that area? I heard the swell is like 20 FEET!!! for central california. Not going to launch if its that big......at least not with MY gear Smile Smile Very Happy
boardsportsrule4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey! i am a student at Cal Poly San luis Obispo and i've been windsurfing at pismo the last month or two. a couple things to be aware of
1) you actually launch at Oceano( or i do), where you can drive out onto the beach, its $5 for a day, or $50 for a season.
2) its very on shore, kinda hard to get out if you're not lit, so rig big!
3) i have heard that if you go south on the beach it gets more off shore, which can be better to ride in. i have never gone down there my self... no one to do it with so far.
4) 5.8 maybe 5.3, i have had a bunch of 95L 5.7 days(im about 180lb's), i have had a couple 95L, 5.3 days. i have heard saturday should be epic..today is good, and yesterday was awesome.
5) check http://xtremebigair.com/KBWebcams.cfm?&DID=18&User_ID=672108&st=6892&st2=-88223969&st3=-38524146
for current wind information. if it's blowing about 15 i head out.
6) if you go to the centeral coast sensors(on IW), and its blowing south of pismo(port angrulla, santa maria, etc.) it will blow at pismo later in the day, it usually gets sailable around 12, peaks at 2, and dies by 4.
boardsportsrule4