myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Floras Lake Questions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Northwest USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mtnrunner

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: Floras Lake Questions Reply with quote

As I've mentioned in another post, my family and I are going to the Oregon Coast on vacation. Originally I was planning on driving though the Gorge both ways and spending a couple days each way windsurfing. However I am now thinking about driving out through Northern Nevada and then into Southern Oregon and hitting Floras Lake on the way out. My wife and kids are total beginners and I am just learning to get in the foot straps. It sounds like Floras Lake might be a better place for beginners than Hood River. The concern I have is if the wind is reliable and the gear and instructors would be fairly close to what we would get in Hood River. Is the wind pretty reliable there? Is the rental gear as good as what we would get in Hood River? And finally, are the instructors at Floras Lake good? I am probably going to take a lesson or two and my 12 year old son will probably take a lesson. Am I going to get good quality instruction like I would in the Gorge. Floras Lake is appealing because it sounds like a great beginner spot and the rental gear is right on the beach. Also it sounds like a campground is right off the beach. Regardless if we spend the first few days at Floras Lake or not we will still be spending a couple days in Hood River on the way home. So I will still get to sail in the Gorge but not for as many days. Thanks for the advice, this message board has been great.
Arrgh

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote