myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Why do clouds mess up Gorge winds?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Northwest USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bobgatpdx1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 11:59 pm    Post subject: Why do clouds mess up Gorge winds? Reply with quote

I've been hearing this pearl of wisdom for many years - today it was certainly true at the Hatch. Was blowing OK until some clouds drifted over the river and sure enough the wind died.

But WHY does this happen?

The Gorge is driven by pressure gradients - I typically look at the PDX-DLS gradient to be 0.06 or greater for good winds in the Corridor. A cloud passing overhead doesn't change the overall gradient, so why does it shut the wind down?

Discuss!
BobG
isobars

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the clouds include a squall or a dry downdraft causing the wind, the wind will slam shut as the downdraft passes overhead. In the former case, that first raindrop is your warning to get yer butt ashore immediately, as the downdraft is at your door.