myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Anyone sailing in Union Pier Michigan?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Eastern and Central USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Darbonne

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:25 am    Post subject: Anyone sailing in Union Pier Michigan? Reply with quote

I'll be in Union Pier next week and I am bringing my windsurfer. I am still a beginner having just started in March of this year. Looking forward to trying it in Lake Michigan. Not sure how I am going to deal with the surf and big water. I have been learning on a lake in Louisiana. I have a Starboard Start, Ezzy Wave 5.8 and a Gaastra Matrix 8.0. Any tips would be appreciated.
d0uglass

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the waves are small you can just walk your gear out beyond where they are breaking and then uphaul. Carrying your gear through the waves will be easier if you use your small sail.

Don't fart around any longer than necessary in the area where the waves are breaking. When you come in to shore, sail into as shallow water as possible before you hop off.

It will take a while to get used to balancing in the swells but it won't be that hard if you already have your basic knowledge of how to windsurf.

If the waves are big then you shouldn't attempt a direct attack. Look for a place where a jetty or something is blocking the waves and launch there.

Good luck.

Brian_S

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darbonne,
In addition to James' advice, some local knowledge never hurts either. I don't sail often in that area, but you might find some others who are going out on www.miwindsurfing.com

Brian
Darbonne