myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
New to windsurfing, board purchase
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mikeg83

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:55 am    Post subject: New to windsurfing, board purchase Reply with quote

Hey guys,

I'm looking to get into windsurfing and have been looking at used boards to purchase. I've been sailing for 20 years and was an instructor for 8. I've also spent the past few winters snowboarding in Colorado. Last week I took a beginner lesson to make sure I wasn't missing anything, it went pretty well. Currently, I'm living in Florida, splitting time between Palm Beach County and the Fort Myers area. After this year I think I will probably be somewhere on the east coast (N.C., VA, etc.) Not sure what windspeeds I'd be looking at, probably 8-15kts, maybe up to 20-25?

I have no idea what size or type of board to look for or avoid. Several years ago I messed around on a large Mistral board with a daggerboard, probably from the mid-90's and I think I'd prefer something a little smaller. During the lesson I used one of the wide beginner boards and it seemed almost too easy, so I don't think I'm interested in one of those.

I think I'd like something I'd be able to progress on, but not outgrow too fast. I'm in decent shape, about 150-160lbs.

Thanks for any info/advice.

- Mike
MalibuGuru

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote