myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Starboard ultrasonic for intermediate
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
outhaul

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:58 am    Post subject: Starboard ultrasonic for intermediate Reply with quote

I love my Exocet Windsup 11'8 but would like to add a shortboard. I'd rate my skill level as a mid range intermediate and weigh about 210lbs. Typical conditions for me 15-low 20s mph Lake Michigan chop and swell.
I have no real experience with shortboards but I'm thinking about a bigger freeride like the Go 161 or the SB Ultrasonic or even the JP Super Light Wind.
I think the Go would be the safest choice but I'm wondering about Ultrasonic and SLW because of their light wind performance but I'm concerned they will be too technical for my skill set.
Just looking for some thoughts from those who have used these boards and how user friendly they might be or not. Thanks.
rangerider

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The US is very easy to sail but it is a handfull powered in chop. I love it and I am a poor excuse for a windsurfer. I also have a windSup 11'8". The US accelerates much more quickly and is much faster. I think for where I live it would be the one board I would keep if I could only keep one. I don't like it for sail sizes below 7.0 though. In any case you will have no problem sailing it.
adywind

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote