myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Fractured ankle
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Northwest USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ekramers

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 1:33 pm    Post subject: Fractured ankle Reply with quote

Hi,
A couple days ago I fractured my ankle in three places while windsurfing in the bay in San Francisco. First let me say that we have some amazing people here and that I am very grateful to everyone who helped me make it back to shore.
Since I am going to have plenty of time I wanted to start a discussion on foot straps. I have been windsurfing for 23 years and never had a serious injury. I usually have my straps fairly big, with the back edge of the strap about one inch from the ankle. I don't really remember what happened after I jumped by my foot never came out of the strap after I got thrown forward. A few days prior to the accident I told myself I should make them even bigger...oh well...
Any thoughts on how to avoid this kind of injury? Any footstrap release system out there? Thanks
Eric
dllee

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Releasable footstrap systems either release too early, or don't release when it's advisable to release.
If you insist on big hoops, you go narrower than normal for retention, then go really tall so your foot can twist and rotate inside the straps.
Sounds like you had the perfect storm. Just too small to allow your foot to rotate, and needing the wider spread-too small hoop to hold your foot in place for jumps.