myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Spots around Boston

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Eastern and Central USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pi-air

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:29 am    Post subject: Spots around Boston Reply with quote

Hello,
I moved to Boston, Somerville to be precise, last winter and bought some windsurfing gear earlier this summer. I went to Kalmus a couple times, it was absolutely great, but now fall is here, the winds are changing and I don't really know where to go. FYI, I'm still learning how to planning-jibe; to give you an idea of my level.
What spots do you recommend, especially for fall weather? Are there weather patterns I should pay attention to? Do you think this following website is still accurate ?
http://groups.csail.mit.edu/mac/users/rweiss/MA_windsurfing_info.html

Also, I keep seeing people talking about sharks on the cape and I don't really know what to think about it. I learned how to windsurf in Brittany, France. No sharks there. Now I have sharks in the summer and icebergs in the winter... sigh...

Thanks!
-Pierre
DavidAC

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:27 am    Post subject: Spots around Boston? Reply with quote

Pierre,

Boston has many choices for sailing spots. Most of what is on the web site you listed is obsolete, particularly regarding shops (there are none) although some of the weather sites are still good. However, you can look up spots on iwindsurf to get good local information on different sites.