myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Beginner Windsurf / SUP Board recommendations
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LakeSurf

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 6:05 pm    Post subject: Beginner Windsurf / SUP Board recommendations Reply with quote

I'm just getting into windsurfing but have SUP'd for a while. I'm 180lbs, am pretty athletic with good board feet, but have a lot to learn about sailing. I'll only get to windsurf 10 or so times a year on the lake by my house, with winds 8-12mph and stronger gusts. I may be able to go the Outer Banks once in a while too, but my time is pretty limited now.

I've been learning on a HiFly Motion board which is super stable, but also super heavy and feels like I'm slogging too much. I've also tried a Malibu Mistral. I can up-haul and balance, but at only 24" wide, it's too unstable for my ability and more frustrating than fun.

So I'm thinking about buying a windsurfing board, and I could justify spending a bit more ($1,000 or so) if I could find something that is good to SUP on too. I SUP more than I windsurf due to lack of wind.

I could get a new Starboard Windsup for about $1,000. Does anyone have any experience surfing and SUPing on that it? Any other recommendations?
LeeD

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course, you're free to spend as much money as you wish.....
Stick with the Motion. In your winds, you can only slog around at 3-7 mph anyways, and no amount of money short of a personal watercraft will allow you to go faster.
LakeSurf

PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LeeD wrote: