myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
I <3 Windsurfing... Tales from a complete Newb...
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Eastern and Central USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Derikthin

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 8:42 pm    Post subject: I <3 Windsurfing... Tales from a complete Newb... Reply with quote

Long time no talk! =).

The wind gods shined down upon me and a sweetheart of a chap bequeathed me some amazing equipment, to which I'll be forever grateful.

Furthermore I just wanted to share how over the moon excited I am about this sport. I love it, and you'd be hard pressed to find someone worse at it then me.

I went out last Friday to Sandy Hook and met a really nice guy named Min who, after seeing that I obviously needed some direction, gave me some pointers on how to beach start. After he showed me I basically floundered in the water for a good hour and a half without much luck, but with a little more knowledge then I had before.

The wind was super hard I think upper 20's (MPH) and there were lots of waves. They were awesome conditions for a man of Min's caliber but they basically Bitch slapped me the whole morning. I got to experience being ripped out of the water and flipped over the sail, not once but twice. It was actually pretty exciting and since I was not injured I was able to find humor in it. Made me glad that I purchased a helmet because I can see how easily you can get injured doing this now.