myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Long Board vs Transition Board (180L)
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LakeSurf

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:52 am    Post subject: Long Board vs Transition Board (180L) Reply with quote

I'm a 180lb newbie (been out about 8 times) and have been borrowing Motion HiFly 290cm long, 90cm wide, 219 liters board. The board feels super stable, but heavy and sluggish. I typically sail in light winds (12 mph or so) -- on average about once a month, but hope to do future trips to the coast for stronger winds.

What do you think would be better for me -- something like a JP Austraila Funster 180L or a long wide board?

I know a lot of people love the Kona One, but I haven't been able to find one used and don't want to break the bank of tons of gear that I'm not able to use a whole lot. And with my experience with the HiFly, I feel like I'm ready for a smaller board than 200L.
gvogelsang

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you like to sail in light winds around 12, a longboard makes a lot of sense. With the dagger board and longer water line, you can explore upwind and downwind.

A short board really only comes into its own element in planing conditions - which start at 15 for most.
isobars

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plus ... many longboards are fast when planing (e.g., Mistral Superlight, Fanatic Ultra Cat) and any of them will provide the single most valuable key to progress: TOW.

Time On the Water.