myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
gybing in stronger wind sail steering
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
qwertyjjj

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:52 pm    Post subject: gybing in stronger wind sail steering Reply with quote

As you may have seen from my other threads, I'm a beginner.
I was learning gybing at the weekend.
Everything was going fine in light winds.
At my level I end up with both feet together towards the back of the board in the middle of the gybe. I know some people advocate not doing tat and just using a twist but I can get away with it for now on a wider board.

The wind then picked up and I was unable to complete the gybes.
The board would get to around 5 o'clock (started on a 3o'clock beam reach) and then just stop turning. I was not using the rail to turn just the sail.
Then I would end up falling one way or the other.
Any ideas what this could be? Possibly I'm not leaning far enough back so the mast was too upright and therefore leaning the mast to windward wasn't having an effect?
techno900

PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The amount of dialogue to describe jibing (either a long board or short board) will be exhausting for all. The technique needed for a longboard
(sub-planning) in light winds is a little different than moderate winds and VERY different when the board is planning. Dagger boards can play a major role if you have one.

I suggest you go to youtube and search for longboard jibing instructional videos. A picture/video is worth a 1000 words.

The progression to competent jibing on any board takes time and commitment.
Darbonne