myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
2017 Fanatic Freewave 105 (Classic vs STB)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jama

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:46 am    Post subject: 2017 Fanatic Freewave 105 (Classic vs STB) Reply with quote

I am trying to decide between buying a 2017 Fanatic Freewave (classic style) and the Freewave STB (stubby style). I was wondering what the differences would be between these boards and which one would suit me the best. I am a bit worried about the classic because Fanatic has discontinued it for 2018.

I have been windsurfing for 7 years and I sail in the harness/footstraps, waterstart, and have started making carve jibes (I started making carve jibes last year but still not planing out of them yet). I sail on choppy flat water a lot but I also get out wavesailing. I am still somewhat new to wavesailing but I really enjoy it. I own a 85L Fanatic Freewave (2013), a 125L Tabou Rocket (2011), and a 150L Fanatic Allwave (2014). I've used the Allwave as an introductory board to wavesailing and I am now comfortable being in the waves on smaller boards.

I'd like to use the new 105L for blasting/freeriding and also for getting out and improving my beginner skills in waves.

My sails are 4.2, 4.7, 5.3, 6.0, & 7.5. I weigh 165 lbs (75 kg).

The location where I wavesail can have large waves but they aren't very steep (basically gentle giants). Wind conditions there range from side-off to side-on (I would probably sail frontside as often as backside) with winds ranging from 15 knots (often) to 30+ knots (during storms).

Thanks for any advice/input!
dmilovich

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote