myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
windsup users - is it me or the equipment?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
anna1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 11:10 am    Post subject: windsup users - is it me or the equipment? Reply with quote

I recently started windsurfing again and bought a Bic Performer 11'6" with an Aerotech 4.8 windsup rig as an affordable entry point. I was surprised how easy it was to just jump on the board and go after so many decades. However, now I'm trying to work on my form and learn different tacks, etc and I'm finding it really hard. Since I'm a novice I have no idea if this is me or the limitations of the equipment. Specifically, I feel like the sail has no natural balance point so in light wind I feel like I have to hold it up, essentially. If I try to move my hands down the boom in any conditions the mast becomes unstable and I have no control. If I move my feet down the board I feel like the board is unresponsive and unstable. Granted, I'm a total novice so this could be that I'm just not doing it right, but before I drive myself crazy, are these known attributes of this set-up or do I just need to keep learning? Thank you for any experience.
boardsurfr

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It sounds like you may not have rigged the sail correctly, which is a common issue for beginners. Next time, take a few pictures of the rigged sail, and post them. It may also help to look at some videos on how to rig a sail. Even if the video is from a different sail company, you may still pick up some pointers.
swchandler

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote