myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
What size sail to beachstart?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nosmas1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2000 1:22 am    Post subject: What size sail to beachstart? Reply with quote

Hi, Im a beginner and want to attempt to beachstart. Im using a Starboard GO. I am 175 lb. How big of a sail do I need. Same question for my son, 98 lb. Can it be a trainner type sail with just one batten? Thanks.

Aloha,
Sam
joeyyyy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2000 1:27 am    Post subject: RE: What size sail to beachstart? Reply with quote

Any Sail you can control, can be beach started. Beach starting is your first step to water starting.... keep at it...
Happy Sailing..
joeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
nosmas1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2000 3:33 am    Post subject: RE: What size sail to beachstart? Reply with quote

Joeyyyyyyyyyyyyy,, thanks, that is encouraging. dont hav eto dish out more money for another sail.
spyder

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2000 1:51 am    Post subject: RE: What size sail to beachstart? Reply with quote

You can learn the beachstart with any sail. I think its a good idea to start smaller.

Once you get the idea, then I would suggest trying with a sail that is more suited to the conditions and your size.

Floaty board is a good idea too, for now. So the GO is a great one to work with.

What you should learn is to be able to situate the board with sail control, so your back foot can rest on the board in knee deep water.
Then in a simultaneous move, push off with the other foot and raise the sail to mount the board.

Try to straighten out the board, and get in a position on the board where you are balanced.