myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
how to rig sail

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
teddyb

PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2000 6:44 pm    Post subject: how to rig sail Reply with quote

i am a beginner sailor and have ended up with a xantos 295 board with a 7.0 racing sail with four cambers. i am having a tough time rigging the sail. when i try to downhaul the thing the stupid cambers keep popping off of the mast. what is the correct rigging procedure? also another question, the 7.0 sail looks really big, is this too much sail for a beginner? ive been a sailor all my life and know how to tack and jybe on big boards. i am 6 4 190 lbs athletic 30 year old with high motivation level.
spyder

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2000 4:45 pm    Post subject: RE: how to rig sail Reply with quote

Firstly, you have some good stuff, but yes it is advanced for your level. My biggest caution, dont ignore learning the fundamentals to get on this stuff fast. Learning control of the board and sail, without fighting it. Meaning sailing, tacking, jibing and uphauling a smaller sail with a larger board.

That 7.0 race sail is heavy and hard to manage for a beginner. The Xantos 295 is a great board, but a bit on the small side for a beginner.

This rig will be great once you can hook-in, and get in the footstraps, and waterstart. But right now I would get a smaller sail to learn. Something used and inexpensive. The board is a bit small too, but it will do.

Where do you sail? 7.0 for your size is for pretty mild winds.