myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Hanging on for dear life
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Darbonne

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 8:49 am    Post subject: Hanging on for dear life Reply with quote

A little background. I am in my 3rd season. Self taught. Have been sailing the Kona for the last two years. Sail mostly on a lake in NE Louisiana. 197 lbs. Well I am finally getting powered up and on plane. Seemed like it would never happen. This last Saturday was a great day, the wind was all over the place but mostly in the 16-19 MPH range with some crazy gusts well over 20 MPH. I decided to rig the 8.0 Gaastra Matrix instead of the Kona 9.0 as I am still getting used to higher winds. I was able to get on plane and cruise, but never really got in the straps. Here is the part where I need a little help. During the really big gusts I was able to move back, drop my weight and really fly. However control was a big problem. I couldn't get the board to settle down and track straight. A couple of times I felt like I was hanging on for dear life. I understand that at higher speeds every force on the board is magnified. Probably just need more practice. A lesson probably would help too.
PeconicPuffin

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2014 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Congratulations on what sounds like a fine day! Yes a lesson(s) would be a fine idea...you can self teach yourself into some bad habits. More practice will certainly help. The Kona guys will weigh in (Jingebritsen...listen to him though I may have misspelled his name) on how to trim that board at speed.
cgoudie1