myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Powerbox Foil Newbie

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Waterat Pat

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2021 7:02 am    Post subject: Powerbox Foil Newbie Reply with quote

I have a 115l Freeride board with powerbox that I think would be great for a beginner foil setup. It si a Naish Starship and has many footstrap positions which I think will be helpful. Any recommendations on what kind of mast or foil to get? I am a beginner foil person and I would be using my windsurf sails.
Thanks in advance. Patrick
grantmac017

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2021 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of all the PB foils I'd say the new Fanatic is best by a mile.
dllee

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2021 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A handful of windfoilers here use the NP Glide Series S and M with various JP boards in PB.
They had to drill out the board's PB screw opening to 8 mm., a tiny difference. They all windfoil pretty well.
All are lightweights. All use foil for 8-17 mph winds, then fin for more.
Personally, at 160 lbs., I can't imagine using 85 liter boards for windfoil since I almost sink my 122 Naish when slogging around. About an inch of water is flowing into the rear strap when I slog.
About the same for those lightweights, 130'145 lbs on their 85 liter PB boards.
NOVAAN

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2021 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote